Open Letter to Theology Department of Fordham University
I have asked to meet with the Presbyteral Council of the Archdiocese of New York to explain why the Catholic Church should correct the Magis Center, which is run by a Jesuit and has the support of three cardinals and three bishops. The Magis Center uses pseudoscience and misrepresents our salvation history to proselytize. I very recently had an insight into what would cause certain Catholic theologians to behave this way. Knowing that all Catholic theologians have a duty to assist the Magisterium, I am advising you about my request. I graduated from Fordham College in 1964 and got a Ph.D. in physics from New York University in 1971. My metaphysics teacher was Norris Clarke, S.J.

There are links to articles I have written about these matters on one of my websites ("Pseudoscience in the American Journal of Physics") under "Magis Center for Faith and Science." You will also find there my recent letter to the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith, as well as the handout I would use at such a presentation. My correspondence with the Holy Father about these matters is at another website ("Complaint Against Cardinal Dolan").

About three years ago, I communicated a criticism of Stephen Barr, who is a prominent physicist and advisor to the Magis Center, to two Jesuits in this department. My complaint against Dr. Barr concerns evolution and thermodynamics. Understandably, the two theologians did not feel qualified to get involved in such a matter, but they were wrong. Any layman can see why an article published by the American Journal of Physics titled “Entropy and evolution” is absurd. This is one of the things I want to explain the Presbyteral Council.
Very truly yours, David Roemer

Letter to President of St. John's University, September 29, 2015
Dear Mr. Gempesaw,
On July 22, 2015, I sent a letter to the Congregation of the Doctrine of the Faith criticizing a Catholic organization run by a Jesuit for helping the American Journal of Physics disseminate anti-religion propaganda about evolutionary biology, misrepresenting our salvation history by touting the authenticity of the Shroud of Turin, and for disseminating irrational arguments for God’s existence. I have not received a response yet. I am interpreting this to mean the Catholic Church wants me to educate its theologians in the United States about these matters. My correspondence with the Catholic Church is at these websites:

In addition, I recently submitted articles (“An Analogy Between Nazi Germany and the United States,” “Science, Metaphysics, Philosophy, History, and Theology of the Shroud of Turin,” and “Why People Believe God Caused the Big Bang”) to Perspectives on History (Shatha Almutawa), The Historian (Kees Boterbloem), and Journal of the American Academy of Religion (Amir Hussain), respectively.

I have contacted through emails, telephone calls, and letters mailed with a certificate of mailing 27 theologians at St. John’s University with an offer to give a seminar about these matters. My offer has been refused. I think you will be doing the Catholic Church a service if you make sure this decision is not the result of improper considerations and fear of unlawful reprisals from individuals in a position of authority.

Very truly yours, David Roemer
sent by restricted registered mail (RE134236414US)

Department of Theology and Religious Studies at St. John's University
Christopher P. Vogt, Chair
Christopher D. Denny
Rev. Robert Adamo
Rev. Stephen Bicsko
Douglas Blaine
Ben Bortin
Elizabeth Brim
Rev. Thomas Caserta
Hoon Choi
Meghan J. Clark
Francis D. Connolly-Weinert
Jeremy V. Cruz
Michael Dempsey
Eileen Fagan, S.C.
Peggy Fanning, C.S.J.
John J. Fitzgerald
Rev. Patrick Flanagan, C.M.
Andrea Florendo
Rev. Joseph Gibino
Colleen Greaney
David W. Haddorff
James Hannan
Nicholas M. Healy
Joann Heaney-Hunter
Fred Herron
Mary Jane Kelly
Sally Kenel
Erin Kidd
Mark Kiley
Rev. James King
Barbara Kosakowski
Rev. Richard Long
Marian Maskulak
Paul D. Molnar
Mary Ann Muller
Patrick Okafor
Carole Pacula
Rev. Robert Pagliari
Rabbi Mayer Perelmuter
Edward Prager
Habibeh Rahim
Robert Jay Rivera
Joseph Roach
Daniel Rober
Rev. Jean-Pierre Ruiz
Debora Semar
Rabbi Hirsch Simckes
Mariann Smith
Denis Sugrue
Matthew Lewis Sutton
Peter Taras
Tenny Thomas
Julia A. Upton, R.S.M.
Roberta VanBuskirk
Monserrat Washburn
Rev. Michael D. Whalen, C.M.

Department of Theology at Fordham University
Joseph M. McShane, S.J., President of Fordham University
J. Patrick Hornbeck II, Chair
Aristotle Papanikolaou
Barbara Andolsen
Benjamin Dunning
Bradford E. Hinze
Brenna Moore
Charles C. Camosy
Christiana Peppard
Christine Firer Hinze
George Demacopoulos
Harry P. Nasuti
James McCartin
James T. Fisher
Jeannine Hill Fletcher
John Seitz
Judith M. Kubicki, CSSF
Kathryn Kueny
Kathryn Reklis
Larry L. Welborn
Mary Callaway
Michael E. Lee
Michael Peppard
Richard R. Viladesau
Robert G. Davis
Thomas Scirghi, SJ
Sarit Kattan Gribetz
Karina Martin Hogan
Elizabeth A. Johnson, CSJ
Joseph T. Lienhard, SJ
Maureen A. Tilley
Terrence W. Tilley
John Denniston
Matthew Lootens
Kathryn Reinhard
Joshua Schapiro
Krista Stevens
Joseph W. Koterski, SJ
Gyula Klima

The Pontifical Faculty of the Immaculate Conception at the Dominican House of Studies
Very Rev. Kenneth R. Letoile, OP, Prior Provincial
Very Rev. John A. Langlois, OP, President
Rev. Thomas Petri, OP
Rev. Joseph Alobaidi, OP
Rev. Steven C. Boguslawski, OP
Rev. Basil B. Cole, OP
Dr. Gregory LaNave
Rev. Gabriel B. O’Donnell, OP
Rev. Stephen D. Ryan, OP
Rev. Thomas Joseph White, O. P.
Rev. Brian P. Chrzastek, OP
Rev. John D. Corbett, OP
Rev. Andrew Hofer, OP
Rev. John Baptist Ku, OP
Dr. Jody Vaccaro Lewis
Rev. Timothy Bellamah, OP
Rev. James Brent, OP
Dr. Brian Carl
Rev. Anthony Giambrone, OP
Rev. Dominic M. Langevin, OP
Rev. Dominic D. F. Legge, OP
Rev. Albert Trudel, OP
Rev. Seraphim Beshoner, TOR
Rev. Msgr. J. Brian Bransfield
Sr. John Mary Fleming, OP
Dr. Christopher Gross
Rev. Carleton Jones, OP
Ms. Sofia Seguel
Rev. Thomas Weinandy, O.F.M. Cap.
Dr. Jem Sullivan
Rev. George P. Schommer, OP

The Immaculate Conception Seminary School of Theology of Seton Hall University
Rev. Msgr. Joseph R. Reilly, S.T.L., Ph.D., Rector and Dean
Rev. Robert K. Suszko, M.B.A., M.Div
Rev. Msgr. Gerard H. McCarren, S.T.D.
Rev. Christopher M. Ciccarino, S.S.L., S.T.D.
Dianne M. Traflet, J.D., S.T.D.
Rev. Hong-Ray Cho, S.T.L., Ph.D.
Justin Anderson, Ph.D.
Rev. Renato Bautista, M.Div.
Rev. W. Jerome Bracken, C.P., Ph.D.
Rev. Msgr. Joseph Chapel, S.T.D.
Rev. John Cryan, M.Div.
Timothy Fortin, Ph.D.
Rev. Pablo Gadenz, S.S.L.,S.T.D.
Gregory Glazov, D.Phil. (Oxon.)
Rev. Thomas Guarino, S.T.D.
Eric Johnston, Ph.D.
Rev. Douglas Milewski, S.T.D.
Jeffrey Morrow, Ph.D.
Rev. Lawrence Porter, Ph.D.
Joseph Rice, Ph.D.
Ellen Scully, Ph.D.
Victor Velarde-Mayol, Ph.D.
Rev. Msgr. Robert Wister, Hist.Eccl.D.
Rev. Peter Albano, Ph.D.
Rev. Donald Blumenfeld, Ph.D.
Julie Burkey, D.Min.
Diane Carr, M.A.
Rev. John Chadwick, S.T.D.
Rev. Msgr. Robert Coleman, J.C.D.
Rev. Msgr. T. Mark Condon, J.C.D.
Rev. Msgr. John Fell
Rev. Stephen Fichter, Ph.D.
David Hajduk, M.A., Ph.D.(cand.)
Rev. Msgr. Raymond Kupke, Ph.D.
Rev. Krzysztof Maslowski, S.T.D.
Fr. William McDonald, S.T.D.,S.T.B.
Rev. Daniel O'Mullane, S.T.L.,S.T.B.
Rev. Roberto Ortiz, S.T.L.
Rev. Charles Pinyan, D.Min. (cand.)
Rev. Msgr. John Radano, Ph.D.
Deacon Andrew Saunders, M.A.
Allan F. Wright
Rev. Msgr. C. Anthony Ziccardi, S.T.D.,S.S.L.
John Nowik, M.M.

Mount Angel Seminary
Owen F. Cummings, Academic Dean

Francis X. Clooney, S.J.
Michael Rossmann, S.J.